Saturday, May 05, 2007

I ve become an Engineer

After struggling for four years i am at the verge of becoming an engineer..Being an engineer had been my childhood dream.I should be thankful for Anna university for creating this many engineering seats so that i could hang on to one..Now that i have completed those four years, i stop to look back at what i had done these four years...

Nothing different from school except that i enjoyed quite a lot in college... I never liked being forced to study and that was what i was offered here.. Nobody told me to study..It was a very pleasurable experience all these four years...

College was just awesome except for the occasional semester exams. I used to search for the books and take xerox of notes just during th study hols and yet managed to clear all the subjects...Thanks to the people who had corrected my exam papers... Only they could come up with reason for giving marks to all the crap i had written...

Thank you all of you whoever had played a role in my becoming an engineer....

Farewell to KCG

This should be the last week i should be going to college.. Just two days in this week for wrinting the exams.... Then bye bye college..But not bye bye to those ever dear friends who had shared these tremendous four years with me...Thanx for the great time guys.... When i joined this college i was a dejected and disappointed with my performance in XII std that i d to land in not so known college when most of my school friends got admitted in better colleges...

I dunno when i began liking college...But seriously KCG was rocking in just a few days i got familiar with it...It had all the facilities students wanted...Though i didnt use most of them i would better list out them...Saturdays were hols..That was great... Jeans was allowed and believe me i bought a pair in 5 years only after joining here... Mobile was allowed in college....Then now for the more tempting offers...Bike was allowed and importantly u can enter and leave the college premises without being questioned by anybody...A nearby cinema theater at walkable distance..A good basketball court that served as a cricket pitch for us...Nobody would ask anything when we played cricket in the time we were supposed to be in class...
Then those internals....Actually u can take up retests till u get satisfied with ur marks... Also there are assignments that boost ur marks by the end of semester... Then attendance was no problem as long as u had 75%.... Staffs were great.. Either they taught well or left us free... Though only a very few fell in the former category....
Enough of trumpeting about my college myself..... Now its gonna end..I may be missing college......

Monday, November 20, 2006

CATastrophe 2006

Ya i am talking about my CAT 2006 taht i wrote on Nov 19 th..I was actually writing CAT just as a formality. Dont think that i was so confident of gettin into IIM s tat i was takin CAT very lightly. IT was actually the other way round. But i was faring decently well in a few of the aimcats clearing cut offs but not all three at the same time. Tat was my problem and English was a bigger problem. All my guesses will be surely wrong. I dunno if the key was set after i seeing my answers so tat eeryone of my guesses should be wrong..Ok let's get to the C-Day as my friend Guru named it..Ya C-Day s like the D-Day for us..

Center was Loyola College..No problems in getting to there, reaching the exam hall, finding my seat and settling down for exam.. The problems started after the answer sheet was given. I was asked to shae all the personal information on the sheet..Boooooring..It took full 20 minutes to shade for me while others were finished shading and going thru the rules and regulations in the question paper...Then exam started i started to read the rules..75 questions for 300 marks..I was reminded of the nightmarish Aimcat 702 in which i got a zero in Quants..My lowest ever in quants..started with DI and as another half an hour passed by i found tat the papaer was not tat difficult as i imagined. Then came English section.. As u all would e guessed from the mistakes in this blog that i am very poor in English..This English was very bad..Actually this English was quoted as "Infer me if u can" sort later in the review..I could nt infe anything leave alone answering..So i started to do wat i thought i was good at..Guessing...I attempted 18 of the 25 qusetions..All were guessed...

Then came my favourite section Quants....I did well in tat section..Aftr completing the paper or after running out of time i found tat i d missed out on a easier problem in DI...I started to feel tat i d screwed up DI..But after coming home and checkin the key i learnt tat my DI score was not as bad as i thought..It comes around 25-30 (from two keys..One from Time website and another from Career Launcher) It was closer to the expected cutoff of 28.

In English i was miserable managing 11-16..With 12 wrong answers...Quants i got 45-46..There the english marks put an end to my MBA dreams for now..I knew even if i got one luckily i didnt deserve it...Ok Let's stop this CAT rubbish here...And if i get bored with my job next year then CAT 2008 beware..I am sure to crack u down...

Monday, November 13, 2006

My last practical exams....

I was having my last practical exams on the last week of October..Ya tat was my last practiclas in all my 4 yrs of engineering....

I was hopin to get good marks in those exams and prepared well.I even helped out a few of my friends with some doubts. Then i was confident of everythin except viva. I had a fair idea of the subject so i was feelin tat i could face viva easily.but tat external had other ideas..Especially the external who came for Antenna lab..She was HOD of ECE dept in SSN college... She s a real show of..She didnt ask any conceptual questions at all..She straight away asked wat s the formula for efficiency and directivity of dipole antenna...I somehow answered tat.Then came questions regardin formula for all other antennas like helical,horn etc.etc...She didnt stop there she also wanted to know the uses of those antennas..she meant the latest uses tat were not mentioned in the text books..Ah horrible..Even our sir was upset...He couldnt do anythin to help us..He thought of giving as much marks in practicals as possible..He gave 90+viva marks initially..But that external questioned him tat how can he put 90 for a person who has got ery low viva marks......She was cruel indeed...The highest marks for viva tat we got was 6.....

The revenge.....Thou i cant call it revenge exactly...Our sir luckily got an opportunity to go as an external for CS dept of SSN coll..I would ve been happy if it was ECE...Anyway it was SSN..Tat was enough...Our sir did the same thing the SSN ECE HOD did for us...He siad that the students there were worse than us..They had superior insrtuments,staff,infrastructure and everything but the students were good only at mugging up...In microprocessor lab he asked the students to write a few silly progams tat were not in their records..They were not able to do it...Our sir being a very 'righteous' man gave zeroes too in viva....

Overall who r the sufferers..Its us - the students.... When externals ask something regarding a concept its accpetable in viva..But when they start asking for formula as SSN ECE HOD asked or page numbers of answers which our sir asked (though he asked it when students sad tat they mugged up the answers..) its not accpeptable....

Anyway the practicals are over and i am saying bye for those labs,observations,records,model exams and vivas.....bye bye..

Tuesday, October 31, 2006

Rain Rain Go Away!!!!

Rains Rains Rains..Enought of them..We ve suffered a lot due to rains last year..Esp the people in the sub urbs..The locality name Madipakkam was popularised more just because of rains and the consequent floods....I lost count of the days we were marooned in a waterscape without any mode of transport to get to work or school/college..There was also no power..This meant tat we had nothin to do after sunset (Good old primitive days) ..Nothin to study too..Thou i cud ve used a candle..We d dinner around six thirty then wander abt in the terrace for another half an hour then get to sleep....Wat else to do..No TV no PC etc..etc... Worse of all the rains came durin my university exams..Thanks to Anna univ..They postponed all the exams..So another excuse for not studying...The rains tat came during December 1st week during 2005 were the worst ones i ve ever seen....The water level was very high...It was around five feet on road...Ya on road..It may be surprisin for many people but its benn a sort of routine for Ram nagar people every year....

Interestin sights diring the floods...People used to swim to their work initially befor ferry service was deployed...Miscellaneous objects ranging from slippers to pots to even mixies came floating in water....Then we got to see all possible sorts of insects, fishes and even snakes...Very interstingly i found tat snakes could climb steps too when one came to our doorstpe in the first floor.....

Ok enough enough i myself getting bored reciting these events...Let's hope this year tat the rains are a bit liberal and come in the sufficient quantity..Tat ll do!!!!!

Monday, October 30, 2006

All about me!!


Everyone wants to put something about them in everything they own.. Even in a text book where one writes not just his/her name also some extra details.. So why should nt i write something about me so that i wont repeat this in any of my other blogs.....

Dhanesh - tats me..I was born in Kanyakumari on my birthday(Lucky fello born on my b'day)...Then we moved to Chennai..I did all my schoolin in Chennai..My school was Prince Mat.Hr.Sec.School... I was studyin in Nanganallur till my II std then changed to Madipakkam branch..Right now doing my B.E. ECE Final year in KCG College Of Technology....Plannin to take up a good job after this year....

In school i was moderately good in studies and even now i am so.. Then computers are my passion..Dont just think i know everythin abt computers..I am just a beginner and has been a beginner from the time i began way back in my eleventh std.

Then i like to see cricket and also play it, thou rather not good at playin...Besides cricket on TV i dont see anythin else other than News and a few movies tat too very rarely....I like to read a lot..I ve read quite a handful of books... Dan Brown has been my favourite author.There also likes of Sidney Sheldon, Jeffey Archer,John Grisham,Mario Puzo etc etc..Then in Tamil i ve long list startin from Sujatha,Madhan ,Balakumaran,Jayakanthan........It goes on.............

Finally abt my character and personality that i ve analysed myself and heard from friends allthese twenty years.. I am usually very lazy and always needed someone to force me to start a work..Once i start somethin i put my heart and soul into it as long as i am kept going....Then i spend most of my time playing in computer and even the night before university exams are not exceptions....I study very little & tat too on the occasion of university exams..They are exams and need atleast some importance and only so do i read....I ve on exceptional quality ...That is i am good at guessin answers and tats wat has kept me goin till now..Hope it helps me in the future too....



Till now i dont ve anythin more to tell abt me..If anythin new turns up i ll add another post..

Why second blog account??

This is my second blog account.I already had one..But it was created too long ago and was accessed very rarely tat i forgot the username along with password. So i thought i ll create one more after all its just free... I hope to blog more regularly this time than i was doin (though not doin) last time..